[Skip to Content]

Who can enter?

The 2016 SC Awards U.S. is open to all information security vendors, service providers and professionals.

Vendors and service providers that offer a product and/or service for commercial, government, educational, nonprofit or other industries can enter the Trust (formerly Reader Trust) and Excellence Awards categories, which relate to products, services and/or information security companies. Entrants should be executing work in North America.

Information security professionals from end-user companies can enter into the Professional Awards categories, which honor teams and individual CSOs/CISOs working in North America. This means NO vendors or service providers that sell IT security-related products or services to private and public organizations qualify for these categories and SHOULD NOT ENTER. If vendors or service providers do enter they will be disqualified after editorial review of entrants in these categories and will receive NO REFUND of related entry fees. It is acceptable and, indeed, encouraged for vendors and service providers to nominate their thought-leading customers. After all, the Professional categories have been created to honor the accomplishments of their end-user customers.

Other Professional categories relate to both professional certification providers and those professional advancement companies that offer training on various information security issues to end-user companies. These, too, should be based in North America.

Entry fees
Trust Awards (formerly Reader Trust Awards) and Excellence Awards categories: $335 per entry.
Professional Awards categories: $240 per entry

Entry requirements and qualification questions

Each category requires that you answer a set of questions in order to qualify your nomination. Please see each category for the full list of qualifying questions. Answer these completely. 

Be sure that your product or service is a fit for the categories in which you are nominating, as SC Magazine reserves the right to eliminate a product or service from consideration if our editorial team and/or judges find that the offering is inappropriate for that category. 

Also, if you are entering multiple categories, you should offer unique answers for each. That is, avoid copying and pasting the same answers for each category you enter as this may yield a negative response from our judging panels.

Online nomination submission

Each nomination must include:

-Answers prepared for the qualification questions for each nomination and

-Nomination fee (online payment required): Visa, MasterCard, American Express.

Finalist notification

Finalists will be announced online on our website, scmagazine.com, in December 2015. Winners will be announced at the 2016 SC Awards U.S. Gala to be held on March 1, 2016 in San Francisco.

Terms and conditions

The mission of the 2016 SC Awards U.S. is to honor the achievements of companies and information security professionals striving to safeguard businesses, their customers and critical data in North America. Information security products and services nominated for the Trust Awards, therefore, should be available for sale to U.S. and Canadian organizations, as well as provide both customer service and support to users in these countries. Competitors are voted on by end-users, readers and vendor-neutral judges. After averages for each category are tallied, finalists and winners are decided. Results are completely independent. Financial/advertising considerations play no part in the results. That is, no one can “buy” a win by advertising, partnering or working with SC and its various team members!


Please contact Anna Jurgowski, event coordinator, at 646-638-6015 or via email at anna.jurgowski@haymarketmedia.com.

For updates on SC Awards Europe 2016, please click here.